Labels

Monday, October 29, 2007

Facebook | Terms of Use

At Podcamp someone said that when you post your content to Facebook, they own it and can do anything they want with it.

That's not exactly right.

Facebook | Terms of Use:
"When you post User Content to the Site, you authorize and direct us to make such copies thereof as we deem necessary in order to facilitate the posting and storage of the User Content on the Site. By posting User Content to any part of the Site, you automatically grant, and you represent and warrant that you have the right to grant, to the Company an irrevocable, perpetual, non-exclusive, transferable, fully paid, worldwide license (with the right to sublicense) to use, copy, publicly perform, publicly display, reformat, translate, excerpt (in whole or in part) and distribute such User Content for any purpose on or in connection with the Site or the promotion thereof, to prepare derivative works of, or incorporate into other works, such User Content, and to grant and authorize sublicenses of the foregoing. You may remove your User Content from the Site at any time. If you choose to remove your User Content, the license granted above will automatically expire, however you acknowledge that the Company may retain archived copies of your User Content."
It was suggested that you read the terms of use before clicking the "I Agree" button.

That's a good idea.

1 comment:

  1. Steve,
    Thanks for posting this. I was going to do some research and then start a "Change the Facebook UGC Terms of Use" facebook group. I think this is more layered than I originally thought. Darn, I hate complexity. I just wanted to be angry.

    ReplyDelete